

Annual Meeting of the Members

December 8, 2022, 3:00 to 4:00 pm ET

Introduction

Tonya Allen, President of the McKnight Foundation and Chair of the Council's Board of Directors, called the meeting to order at 3:00 pm and provided an overview of the meeting agenda. Prior to the meeting, the membership received email communication about the slate of board members and minutes from the 2021 meeting. Voting members of the Council were able to submit proxy votes, enabling members of the executive committee to vote on their behalf to conduct fiduciary business, including the approval of board nominees. Allen led the board officers in a vote to approve the 2021 Member Meeting minutes and shared an update on the Council's membership total and work of the new Ethics Taskforce.

Action: A motion was made to approve the minutes from the December 2021 member meeting. After no discussion, the motion was unanimously approved.

Board Election

Peter Laugharn, President and CEO of the Conrad N. Hilton Foundation and board Vice Chair, introduced himself as chair of the governance committee and explained that one of the committee's primary functions is to propose a slate of board nominees to the membership. Laugharn informed the group that, due to the expected board size of 15 members in the following year, the committee did not recruit any new board members this year. The board slate thus only included three candidates who were renominated for a second 3-year term:

- Brennan Gould, President and CEO, Charlottesville Area Community Foundation
- Mae Hong, Vice President, Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors
- Peter Laugharn, President and CEO, Conrad N. Hilton Foundation

As the board was in the unusual position of having two sitting board officers up for re-election, Allen then clarified the full board's prior approval of the slate. She confirmed that the proxy voting process meant that the board officers were voting as representatives of the members who submitted proxy votes.

Action: A motion was made to approve the proposed slate of re-elected board members. After no discussion, the slate was unanimously approved.

Treasurer's Report

Following the vote, Allen called on Juan Martinez, Board Treasurer, to share the treasurer's report.

Martinez shared that the Council remains financially stable, with a large board-designated reserve, a balance of assets and liabilities, and a clean 2021 audit. He stated that the Council's comfortable financial position has allowed for the expansion of Council offerings and staff size. Martinez concluded by noting that the Council membership has continued to grow with both new members and steady renewals.

State of the Council

Kathleen Enright, the Council's President & CEO, provided a brief State of the Council report. She emphasized central importance of the Council's members in all the work that the organization pursues.

She highlighted some of the Council's member-focused programming, including:

- Peer roundtables and talent development cohorts to connect those in similar roles facing similar challenges and opportunities;
- Legal resources and connections to Congress and the federal administration to deliver the information that organizations need to operate legally and in changing policy environments;
- Responsive, issue-based webinars, such as on the Russian invasion of Ukraine, and learning circles to bolster how philanthropy can respond to complex, systematic problems.

Enright underscored the valuable insights that members lend to informing the Council's work and strategies, such as our publications and the Strengthening Community Philanthropy Working Group. She shared some landmark activities planned in 2023, such as the new building common ground initiative and the Leading Locally conference in Denver. Enright concluded by recognizing two retiring board members, Randy Royster (Albuquerque Community Foundation) and Jamie Merisotis (Lumina Foundation) and thanked outgoing board chair Tonya Allen.

2023 Awards Program

Enright then turned to the 2023 Council Awards winners. She congratulated the inaugural winner of the Outstanding Corporate Philanthropy Leadership Award, Rosita Najmi, the Head of Global Social Innovation at PayPal. Enright then recognized the winner of the long-running Scrivner Award, the Social Equity Collaborative Fund at Catalyst of San Diego and Imperial Counties. She then handed the baton to Tara Sandercock, the 2021 winner of the Distinguished Service Award.

Sandercock shared details on the Distinguished Service Award and introduced Charles Anderson, Chair Emeritus of the San Juan Island Community Foundation and the 2022 Distinguished Service Award recipient. Anderson engaged in a dialogue with board officer and Charlottesville Area Community Foundation President/CEO Brennan Gould. The full record of their conversation can be found here.

Closing

Allen thanked everyone for joining virtually and shared some of her experiences acting as Council board chair over the past two years as the Council and sector adjusted to global pandemic realities. The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 pm.