

# **Annual Meeting of the Members**

November 16, 2023, 2:30 to 3:30 pm ET

#### Introduction

Peter Laugharn, President and CEO of the Conrad N. Hilton Foundation and Chair of the Council's Board of Directors, called the meeting to order at 2:32 pm and provided an overview of the meeting agenda. Prior to the meeting, the membership received email communications about the slate of board members and minutes from the 2022 meeting. Voting members of the Council were able to submit proxy votes, enabling members of the executive committee to vote on their behalf to conduct fiduciary business, including the approval of board nominees. Laugharn led the board officers in a vote to approve the 2022 Member Meeting minutes and shared an update on the Council's membership total.

**Action:** A motion was made to approve the minutes from the December 2022 Member Meeting. After no discussion, the motion was unanimously approved.

### **Governance Committee Report**

Jay Williams, President and CEO of the Hartford Foundation for Public Giving and board Vice Chair, introduced himself as chair of the governance committee and explained that one of the committee's primary functions is to propose a slate of board nominees to the membership. Williams stated that Council bylaws dictate the Council board to be between 12 and 18 members, and, out of 15 current members, four are slated to roll off the board at the end of the year. The governance committee brought the following slate to the membership, which Williams introduced:

The board slate included three candidates nominated for a first 3-year term:

- Benjamin Chandler, President and CEO, Foundation for a Health Kentucky
- o Tia Hodges, President and CEO, MetLife Foundation
- o Jenn Hoos Rothberg, Executive Director, Einhorn Collaborative

The board slate also included three candidates who were renominated for a second 3-year term:

- Jennifer Ford Reedy, President, Bush Foundation
- Martha Jimenez, Executive Vice President, General Counsel, and Corporate Secretary, The California Endowment
- o Brandee McHale, President, Citi Foundation

Williams requested that Laugharn hold a proxy vote on the board member slate.

**Action:** A motion was made to approve the proposed slate of new and re-elected board members. After no discussion, the slate was unanimously approved.

### Treasurer's Report

Following the vote, Laugharn called on Kathleen McLaughlin, President of the Walmart Foundation and Council Board Treasurer, to share the treasurer's report.

McLaughlin highlighted the organization's return to in-person conferences with Leading Locally and its pricing strategy that is both sustainable and accessible. McLaughlin noted that Council membership continues to grow, with community foundations joining and renewing at a higher rate than other member segments, partially in thanks to services such as the acquisition of CF Insights. She shared that the Council remains financially stable, with a large board-designated reserve, a balance of assets and liabilities, a clean 2022 audit, and a mix of established and new funders.

#### State of the Council

Kathleen Enright, the Council's President & CEO, provided a brief State of the Council report. She started by emphasizing the Council's north star of trust and shared how the Council's members are holding each other accountable through initiatives like our ethical principles and convenings on locally led development. Enright underscored the Council's commitment to bridging across differences and building common ground through special programs and highlighted the work done by Council members.

Kathleen then reviewed some of the Council's key initiatives this year, including:

- Opportunities to connect with peers, such as the Leading Locally conference in Denver, CEO programs, DEI roundtables;
- Resources to support organizations with best practices like values-aligned philanthropy and peer benchmarking;
- Research on narratives about philanthropy in American civil society;
- Legal resources and connections to Congress and the federal administration to deliver information needed to
  operate in changing policy environments, such as the Supreme Court's decision on race-conscious
  admissions.

Enright ended by thanking the Council board members and staff who help execute the organization's strategy and many programs.

#### 2023 Awards Program

Enright then turned to the 2023 Council Awards winners. She congratulated the winner of the Outstanding Corporate Philanthropy Leadership Award, Dr. Marvin Carr, the Director of the Center for Racial Equity, at Walmart, Inc. Dr. Carr's commitment to integrity and partnerships was honored. Enright then recognized the winner of the long-running Scrivner Award, the Chicago Community Trust. The Trust was lauded for their funders collaborative that has produced over 30 equity-grounded economic development projects. She then turned it over to Charles R. Anderson, the 2022 winner of the Distinguished Service Award.

Anderson introduced the Distinguished Service Award and celebrated Anne Kubisch, retired President and CEO of Ford Family Foundation in Oregon and the 2023 Distinguished Service Award recipient. Kubisch engaged in a dialogue with Council board member and Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors Vice President Mae Hong. The full record of the awards program, as well as Kubisch and Hong's conversation, can be found <a href="https://example.com/here-new-conversation">here-new-centered President and CEO of Ford Family Foundation in Oregon and the 2023 Distinguished Service Award recipient. Kubisch engaged in a dialogue with Council board member and Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors Vice President Mae Hong. The full record of the awards program, as well as Kubisch and Hong's conversation, can be found <a href="https://example.com/here-new-centered-ne

## Closing

Before ending the meeting, Laugharn recognized the four departing Council board members:

- Tonya Allen, McKnight Foundation, and previous board chair
- Ridgway White, Charles Stewart Mott Foundation
- Kathleen McLaughlin, Walmart Foundation and outgoing board treasurer
- Mai-Anh Tran, Ford Foundation

Laugharn thanked them for their service and then thanked everyone for joining virtually. The meeting was adjourned at 3:30 pm ET.