HUD Secretary's Award for Public-Philanthropic Partnerships

Applications are due on February 23rd for the Council on Foundations and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) 2024 Secretary’s Award for Public-Philanthropic Partnerships.

This award, now in its eleventh year, emphasizes partnerships between the philanthropic and public sectors. The goal is to recognize the partnership process and its impact as a community strategy to increase the quality of life for low- and moderate-income residents across all American geographies—urban, suburban, and rural. 

Nominations and Eligibility

The competition is open to all charitable foundations, including Council members and nonmembers. For purposes of this awards program, a foundation must qualify as either a community foundation or community trust under IRC §§ 501(c)(3), 509(a)(2) and Sec. 1.170A-9(f) of the Treasury Regulations, a private foundation under IRC §§ 501(c)(3) and 509(a) including private operating foundations under 170(b)(1)(F), or a corporate giving program, and must have a primary purpose of (i) supporting charitable activities by making grants to unrelated organizations or institutions or to individuals for scientific, educational, cultural, religious, or other charitable purposes or (ii) engaging in direct charitable activities or programs. Additionally, the foundation must be properly organized in and maintain a primary place of business in the United States. Foreign citizens can participate as employees of an entity that is properly organized in the United States and maintains a primary place of business in the country. Eligibility for a prize award is contingent upon fulfilling all requirements set forth herein. HUD will not select an individual or entity that has an active exclusion in the System for Award Management ( or if there exist any actions that are in tension with the mission of HUD as a finalist or winner.

Learn more and apply.

Award Icon

Past HUD Award Honorees

  • 2021 HUD Award Winners include The San Diego Foundation, Citi Foundation, and The Buhl Foundation.  
  • 2020 HUD Award winners include The Rockefeller Foundation, Meyer Memorial Trust, Quicken Loans Community Fund and Sheller Family Foundation.
  • 2019 HUD Award winners include Puerto Rico Community Foundation, Medtronic Foundation, The Cleveland Foundation and California Community Foundation.
  • 2018 HUD Award winners include The Conrad N. Hilton Foundation, The Rasmuson Foundation, The Anthem Foundation, and The Spartanburg County Foundation. 
  • 2017 HUD Award winners include The Community Foundation of the Lowcountry, The Mayor's Fund for Los Angeles, and The JPMorgan Chase Foundation.
  • 2016 HUD Award winners include The Boston Foundation, Ann Arbor Area Community Foundation, and Incourage Community Foundation.
  • 2014 HUD Award winners include Florida Blue Foundation, Legacy Foundation, and The Denver Foundation.
  • 2013 HUD Award winners include Empire Health Foundation, The Raymond John Wean Foundation, and Sisters of Charity Foundation of Cleveland.
  • 2012 HUD Award winners include Community Foundation for Greater Buffalo, Telluride Foundation, and Lincoln Community Foundation.


Connect with Council Staff