Press Release

Council on Foundations Recognizes 2022 Award Winners, Including Charles R. Anderson for Distinguished Service

The Council on Foundations today announced the winners of three Council awards. The 2022 Distinguished Service Award winner, Charles R. Anderson of the San Juan Island Community Foundation; and the 2022 Scrivner Award for Creative Grantmaking winner, the Social Equity Collaborative Fund at Catalyst of San Diego and Imperial Counties, are recognized for their remarkable leadership and innovation in grantmaking. The Outstanding Corporate Philanthropy Leadership Award was presented to Rosita Najmi, Head of Global Social Innovation at PayPal.

"For nearly 40 years, Council Awards have celebrated individuals and organizations making enormous contributions to the field of philanthropy and to their communities," said Kathleen Enright, President and CEO. "This year we are honored to showcase examples of the scale and variety of ways that generosity is expressed through action, with the hope that they can serve as a beacon for others advancing the greater good."

Award winners are nominated by the field, then vetted and scored by a selection committee of foundation leaders. The Distinguished Service Award is presented to an individual recognized for demonstrating trust, integrity, and courage consistently throughout a career in philanthropy; the Scrivner Award is presented to an organization whose staff has exemplified vision and creativity in their grantmaking work. The Outstanding Corporate Philanthropy Leadership Award, now in its inaugural year, is presented to an individual at a corporate foundation or giving program who excels in building partnerships and pursuing corporate social responsibility.

Distinguished Service Award

Charles Anderson’s nominator described his approach to philanthropy: “His commitment to thoughtful organizational development, impeccable management of donations and finances, strategic communication and outreach, and integrity in every action soon led to increased confidence among donors and larger grants for island organizations.” Anderson was nominated based on his work to fund and construct a critical access hospital for the community of San Juan Island, as well as other examples of his dedication to his community throughout his career of over 40 years.

Scrivner Award for Creative Grantmaking

The Social Equity Collaborative Fund at Catalyst of San Diego and Imperial Counties was nominated for creating a fiscal sponsorship structure to support an informal group of organizers that, six years later, has grown into a county-wide actor known as the Asian Solidarity Collective. The SECF was the collective’s first and only funder at the time.

Outstanding Corporate Philanthropy Leadership Award

Rosita Najmi is recognized for her bold initiative and strategic management of PayPal’s social innovation partnerships during the first months of the COVID-19 pandemic. New to her role when the pandemic began, she was the driving force behind PayPal’s selection as the private sector lead of an action coalition of the UN Generation Equality Forum. Najmi was also a member of the Council’s 2018 Career Pathways cohort.

To learn more about the Council Awards and the 2022 winners, visit or attend the 2022 Council Member Meeting, which is open to both members and nonmembers of the Council community. The Member Meeting will be held on December 8 and will feature keynote remarks from Charles R. Anderson.


About the Council on Foundations

The Council on Foundations exists to help philanthropy be a trusted partner in advancing the greater good. Building on our 70-year history, we are charting a course where funders earn and maintain the public's trust by advancing equity, operating with high integrity, collaborating on broadscale challenges, and serving as ethical stewards. Learn more about the Council and become a member by visiting

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on all
Building Common Ground
Embracing Better Ways of Operating
Expanding Philanthropy's Opportunities to Thrive


Connect with Council Staff

Nicole Bronzan

Vice President, Communications and Content